For the Second 100 Giants, There's a Silver Lining

In a world that seemed to get tougher by the day, this year's second 100 Interior Design Giants took the high road. Of the firms on the list, 90 percent specified environmentally responsible products, including carpet, fabric, paint, lighting, and furniture. As for the business environment, total interior design income for the second 100 Giants fell 24 percent, to $271,382,916, two and a half times the drop experienced by the top 100 Giants.


"It's the economy," you might say, "and fear of global disruption." But you could also point out that 12 of last year's second 100 Giants catapulted themselves into this year's top 100 Giants, taking their earnings statistics along. Although the shortfall hit 49 of the second 100 Giants, with decreases of 50 percent or more walloping nine of them, 27 experienced increases, five of over 25 percent. And, of course, the 24 firms new to the list got themselves there through impressive growth.


As a group, the second 100 Giants installed 127,358,948 square feet, 16 percent fewer than the previous year. Renovation projects beat new construction by 51 to 49 percent. Overseas work increased by 1.4 percentage points—a small but amazing feat given 2002's international climate.


Office design earned 38.47 percent of the year's income, followed by hospitality at 20.55 percent, retail at 8.80 percent, health care at 6.82 percent, and residential at 5.71 percent. The second 100 Giants reported significantly higher percentages than the top 100 Giants in both office and residential design as well as almost 250 percent more in hospitality. The 89 respondents who were willing to give information about installation costs racked up a total of $5,970,477,187.


Although half of the second 100 Giants reported taking on no new project types, 12 entered health care and 13 made a debut in the cultural arena: museums, performance centers, and entertainment. Interestingly, cultural projects produced some of the highest fees. When billed by area, they produced an average of $30 a square foot, the top for any project type—and more than double the next highest category, restaurants. Billed as a percentage of total project cost, culture was again at the top, tied with residential fees at an average of 16 percent. Billed hourly, culture and health care tied for third place at an average of $93 an hour.


Designers described green design as ranging from "somewhat important" to "extremely important" for both themselves and their clients, and 72 plan to increase green specifications. In fact, sustainable construction for 2004 is projected to be twice what it was in 2001. Regardless of economic ills, that's news guaranteed to keep our planet thriving.


% of Fees by Type of Work

2002 Actual

  Actual Fees Average % of Work
Office 104,409,434 38.47
Hospitality 55,766,869 20.55
Retail 23,881,969 8.80
Health Care 18,514,707 6.82
Residential 15,508,549 5.71
Bank, Financial Institution 13,787,975 5.08
Government 11,516,390 4.24
Education 10,361,406 3.82
Technology 7,124,067 2.63
Museum, Gallery 6,308,200 2.32
Transportation 280,089 0.10
Other 3,923,260 1.45
Total $271,382,916 100%


% of Fees by Type of Work
2003 Forecast

  Forecast Fees Average % of Work
Office 106,407,027 36.93
Hospitality 61,203,174 21.24
Retail 26,539,201 9.21
Health Care 21,646,195 7.51
Bank, Financial Institution 15,269,240 5.30
Residential 14,692,680 5.10
Education 11,963,772 4.15
Government 10,775,349 3.74
Technology 8,077,298 2.80
Museum, Gallery 6,741,344 2.34
Transportation 790,270 0.27
Other 3,999,308 1.39
Total: $288,104,858 100%


Annual Salary

  Median
26 firms did not respond
Principal, Partner $115,000
Project Manager $65,050
Designer $48,898
CAD Operator $40,000
Other ID Staff $35,000


Hourly Rate

  Median
8 firms did not respond
Principal, Partner $150
Project Manager $110
Designer $85
CAD Operator $75
Manual Drafters $70
Other ID staff $65


Giants 200

Rank 2003 Firms, Headquarters ID Fees*        
      Work Installed   Employees Rank 2002
    Total $Value* Sq. Ft.*    
*ID Fees, $ Value, and Sq. Ft. in millions
101 Aramark Design Solutions aramark.com Philadelphia $4.650 $350.0 NR 32 136
102 Francis Cauffman Foley Hoffmann, Architects fcfh-did.com Philadelphia $4.500 $125.0 2.0 30 150
103 Gary Lee Partners garyleepartners.com Chicago $4.500 $47.0 0.4 27 113
104 Babey Moulton Jue & Booth bamo.com San Francisco $4.500 NR NR 27 147
105 AM Partners ampartners.com Honolulu $4.400 $45.0 0.3 46 NR
106 McCall Design Group mccalldesign.com San Francisco $4.210 $100.0 1.3 35 109
107 Naomi Leff & Associates naomileff.com New York $4.200 $26.5 0.1 10 127
108 Meyer, Scherer & Rockcastle msrltd.com Minneapolis $4.120 $72.5 0.6 33 NR
109 Bilkey Llinas Design Associates bilkeyllinas.com Palm Beach Gardens, Florida $4.101 $43.0 2.0 38 138
110 Anshen + Allen anshen.com San Francisco $4.089 NR 5.3 12 NR
111 JPC Architects jpcarchitects.com Bellevue, Washington $3.967 $126.0 2.0 33 122
112 SKB Architecture and Design skbarch.com Washington, D.C. $3.939 $30.0 NR 24 114
113 Davis Carter Scott dcsdesign.com McLean, Virginia $3.900 $46.0 0.4 20 117
114 Milo Kleinberg Design Associates mkda.com New York $3.900 $40.0 0.6 19 126
115 LPA lpainc.com Irvine, California $3.825 $61.6 1.5 17 102
116 Ford & Earl Associates fordearl.com Troy, Michigan $3.800 $87.0 2.0 26 139
117 Biber Partnership Summit, New Jersey $3.800 $55.0 1.2 15 151
118 Richard Pollack & Associates rpaarch.com San Francisco $3.800 $47.9 1.0 21 137
119 Ronald Schmidt & Associates rsaaia.com Englewood, New Jersey $3.760 $82.0 2.3 33 146
120 Graeber, Simmons & Cowan gsc-inc.com Austin, Texas $3.750 $110.4 2.9 18 143
121 CORE coredc.com Washington, D.C. $3.750 $58.0 1.4 24 161
122 Mojo Stumer Associates mojostumer.com Greenvale, New York $3.750 $20.0 0.3 28 144
123 Dyer/Brown & Associates dyerbrown.com Boston $3.734 $48.0 0.9 28 165
124 H. Hendy Associates hhendy.com Irvine, California $3.619 $60.0 1.4 28 116
125 Ware Malcomb waremalcomb.com Irvine, California $3.600 $148.0 5.5 23 141
126 Lauckgroup lauckgroup.com Dallas $3.600 $70.0 1.5 26 85
127 Avery Brooks & Associates Las Vegas $3.580 $63.7 0.6 19 145
128 Symmes Maini & McKee Associates smma.com Cambridge, Massachussetts $3.500 $40.0 1.5 8 107
129 Settles Associates settlesassoc.com Arlington, Virgina $3.500 $35.0 0.8 24 153
130 Designplan designplaninc.com Indianapolis $3.490 $200.0 1.4 19 174
131 JRS Architect jrsarchitect.com Mineola, New York $3.480 $135.0 1.0 27 148
132 Vocon Design vocon.com Cleveland $3.440 $50.0 1.3 29 178
133 Hnedak Bobo Group hbginc.com Memphis $3.434 NR NR 10 97
134 Burkettdesign burkettdesign.com Denver $3.389 $138.3 2.3 39 129
135 VeenendaalCave vcave.com Atlanta $3.280 $21.9 1.3 31 167
136 Horst Design International horstdesign.com Cold Spring Harbor, New York $3.200 $35.0 2.0 26 158
137 Design Development Co. Agoura Hills, California $3.150 $50.0 0.5 13 163
138 Hochheiser Ross Design Group baskervill.com Richmond, Virginia $3.100 $59.0 2.7 86 155
139 LWC Design lwc.com New York $3.050 $45.0 1.3 34 171
140 Elias Design Group eliasdesigngroup.com New York $2.960 $65.0 0.8 14 162
141 Rowland Design rowlanddesign.com Indianapolis $2.960 NR NR 26 140
142 F. Brown Entos Design entosdesign.com Dallas $2.832 $29.0 1.3 17 176
143 Mitchell Associates mitchellai.com Wilmington, Delaware $2.800 NR NR 24 173
144 Yates-Silverman yates-silverman.com Las Vegas $2.767 $250.0 NR 14 NR
145 Culpepper, McAuliffe and Meaders cmmi-redlines.com Atlanta $2.761 $60.0 1.1 23 NR
146 Carson Design Associates carsondesign.com Carmel, Indiana $2.720 $80.0 2.5 35 168
147 Meyer Associates meyer-associates.com Ardmore, Pennsylvania $2.707 $55.6 1.6 27 183
148 Watt IDG wattidg.com Toronto $2.698 NR NR 38 128
149 Whitney whitneydesign.com Oak Brook, Illinois $2.600 $31.0 0.8 19 166
150 Berger Rait Design Associates bergerrait.com New York $2.500 $75.0 1.0 18 112
151 Sue Firestone Associates sfadesign.com Santa Barbara, California $2.500 NR 0.3 17 191
152 Orsini Design Associates New York $2.442 NR NR 13 181
153 Woodward Connor Gillies & Seleman Architects wcgsarchitects.com Albany $2.397 $184.3 2.2 18 NR
154 Barone Design Group barone-design-group.com Houston $2.389 $35.0 2.1 12 193
155 RYA/Robert Young Associates rya.com Dallas $2.380 $75.0 0.8 14 108
156 Jova/Daniels/Busby jova.com Atlanta $2.345 $24.9 0.6 11 200
157 TRO/The Ritchie Organization troarch.com Newton, Massachussetts $2.336 NR 0.8 16 192
158 Hatch Design Group hatchdesign.com Costa Mesa, California $2.334 $59.4 0.2 20 NR
159 Reel Grobman & Associates reelgrobman.com San Jose, California $2.332 $63.3 1.1 18 156
160 ARKTX arktxinc.com Arlington, Virginia $2.310 $26.0 1.1 12 177
161 Design Collective dcollective.com Columbus, Ohio $2.309 $60.0 1.0 20 184
162 Ai Group Design aigroupdesign.com Atlanta $2.296 $100.0 1.4 16 196
163 KZF Design kzf.com Cincinnati $2.263 $159.1 5.1 13 169
164 Interform - Commercial Interiors interform.com San Ramon, California $2.254 $100.0 2.3 11 186
165 Style Interior Design style-interiors.com Irvine, California $2.253 $31.0 0.7 9 NR
166 Haverson Architecture and Design haversonarchitecture.com Greenwich, Connecticut $2.250 $40.0 0.1 12 190
167 Van Dijk Westlake Reed Leskosky Architects vwrl.com Cleveland $2.200 $33.8 0.5 18 194
168 Grad Associates gradarchitects.com Newark $2.102 $51.0 0.9 16 NR
169 Alexandra Champalimaud & Associates alexchamp.com New York $2.100 $165.0 1.8 17 170
170 Engstrom Design Group engstromdesign.com San Rafael, California $2.100 $28.0 0.1 22 NR
171 OTJ Architects otj.com Washington, D.C. $2.083 $19.0 2.0 16 180
172 Bottom Duvivier b-d.com Redwood City, California $2.000 $30.0 0.4 14 164
173 Shea Architects shealink.com Minneapolis $2.000 $20.0 1.0 28 125
174 Mekus Studios mekusstudios.com Chicago $1.959 $25.0 0.5 22 199
175 Gray Design Group graydesigngroup.com Saint Louis $1.900 $225.0 4.5 35 124
176 Hopping Kovach Grinnell Design hkgdesign.com Vancouver, British Columbia $1.882 $22.5 0.3 14 NR
177 Kostow Greenwood Architects kostowgreenwood.com New York $1.800 $55.0 0.2 5 175
178 Forrest Perkins forrestperkins.comWashington, D.C. $1.800 $50.0 NR 17 189
179 Lohan Caprile Goettsch Architects lohan.com Chicago $1.800 $24.0 0.3 8 188
180 GBD Architects gbdarchitects.com Portland, Oregon $1.776 $26.6 0.4 19 NR
181 Susman Tisdale Gayle stgarch.com Austin, Texas $1.760 $47.6 0.3 24 134
182 Ir2–Interior Resource San Diego $1.728 $12.5 0.6 10 187
183 Looney & Associates looney-associates.com Dallas $1.707 $48.2 1.2 15 NR
184 Cole Martinez Curtis and Associates cmcadesign.com Marina Del Rey, California $1.700 $23.0 0.9 16 195
185 NFD nfd.com Timonium, Maryland $1.696 NR 2.1 16 198
186 Marvin Stein & Associates marvinstein.com Seattle $1.650 $40.0 0.8 15 NR
187 IEI Group ieigroup.com Philadelphia $1.534 $45.0 1.2 12 NR
188 Ruys & Company ruys.com Atlanta $1.521 $50.0 0.3 8 154
189 Duncan & Miller Design duncanmillerdesign.com Dallas $1.502 $115.0 3.8 12 NR
190 EDI Architecture ediarchitecture.com Houston $1.440 $35.6 0.6 57 160
191 Judd Brown Designs jbd.cc Warwick, Rhode Island $1.402 $36.5 NR 17 NR
192 Indesign Studio City, California $1.320 $40.0 0.4 14 NR
193 HDC–Hotel Design Consultants hdc-srl.com Los Angeles $1.320 $32.0 3.2 11 NR
194 Floss Barber flossbarber.com Philadelphia $1.300 $60.0 1.3 9 NR
195 Ahearn Schopfer and Associates ahearnschopfer.com Boston $1.300 $18.0 0.5 11 NR
196 Thanhauser Esterson Kapell Architects tek-arch.com New York $1.280 $56.0 0.4 19 NR
197 Oliver Design Group oliver-design.com Cleveland $1.200 $81.0 0.4 12 NR
198 J.T. Nakaoka Associates Architects Los Angeles $1.200 NR NR 8 NR
199 idea|span idea-span.com Atlanta $1.188 $23.0 0.5 16 185
200 Farrington Design Group farrington.com Atlanta $1.080 $57.0 1.9 16 182


New to the Second 100 Giants

Firm Rank
AM Partners 105
Meyer, Scherer & Rockcastle 108
Anshen + Allen 110
Yates-Silverman 144
Culpepper, McAuliffe and Meaders 145
Woodward Connor Gillies & Seleman Architects 153
Hatch Design Group 158
Style Interior Design 165
Grad Associates 168
Engstrom Design Group 170
Hopping Kovach Grinnell Design Consultants 176
GBD Architects 180
Looney & Associates 183
Marvin Stein & Associates 186
IEI Group 187
Duncan & Miller Design 189
Judd Brown Designs 191
Indesign 192
HDC–Hotel Design Consultants 193
Floss Barber 194
Ahearn Schopfer and Associates 195
Thanhauser Esterson Kapell Architects 196
Oliver Design Group 197
J.T. Nakaoka Associates Architects 198


Fastest-Growing Second 100 Giants
(By ID Fees)

Firm 2002 2003 % Change Rank
***Francis Cauffman Foley Hoffmann, Architects
Vocon Design $2,600,000 $3,440,000 32.3 132
FCFH, Architects*** $3,500,000 $4,500,000 28.6 102
Dyer/Brown & Associates $2,927,500 $3,734,250 27.6 123
Babey Moulton Jue & Booth $3,540,000 $4,500,000 27.1 104
Designplan $2,767,683 $3,489,593 26.1 130
Jova/Daniels/Busby $1,904,602 $2,345,308 23.1 156
CORE $3,080,000 $3,750,000 21.8 121
Ai Group Design $2,007,200 $2,295,500 14.4 162
VeenendaalCave $2,881,166 $3,280,220 13.9 135
Sue Firestone Associates $2,200,000 $2,500,000 13.6 151
Continue Reading

AROUND THE WEB